The latest version of iOS (version 10. x) is wrapping up the long-awaited redesign that many hoped for. It is much cleaner and more pleasing to look at, but it also comes with a few new issues that users are not happy about. One big problem that some users, myself included, have had with the redesign is that all of your personal information, like your contact information, email address, and so forth, is now exposed in plain view on your lock screen. Unfortunately, there isn’t much you can do to prevent this because if you try to use intelligent screen lock functions or passcodes, you will still see this personal data shown during the unlocking process. So how do you ensure your lock screen is secure and private? Take a look at the following tips and tricks to learn how to secure your iPhone, iPod touch, or iPad’s lock screen!

 

  1. Go to Settings > Touch ID & Passcode > Lock Screen > Swipe Options

 

Once in the Swipe Options page of the Settings app, there is a section for First Time Setup where you can select “Show Apple ID” or “Show Apple Logo” as the screen shows up on your lock screen. Depending on which option you are using, it will be more secure. The Apple ID will display the custom message you set above and your Apple ID, whereas the Apple Logo option will only show a generic “iPhone” logo. The Apple Logo is more secure, but you might not like seeing that every time you unlock your device, so if you’d rather have a personal message, stick with showing your Apple ID.

 

  1. Go to Settings > Touch ID & Passcode > Erase Data After 10 Attempts and Set it to “Immediately.”

 

There is another setting that iOS 10 has added, which helps to ensure no one can access your data if they should ever get into your device and try to brute force the passcode or use some hacking software. In the previous iOS 9 and below, by default, this feature was set to “After 15 Minutes”, which could let that malicious hacker or thief get into your device and have enough time to get data from it. To prevent this from happening, go to your Settings app and tap on Touch ID & Passcode. From there, tap on Erase Data After 10 Attempts, then move the slider down to the position which says Immediately. So now, if someone gets into your device using the passcode, all of their actions are immediately erased after ten attempts (similarly, if you forget your passcode).

 

  1. Use a Photo or Keychain Safe Password

 

There is a way to ensure that no one can steal your iPhone or iPad’s data. However, if someone gets into your iOS device, the culprits can run around with it and download files from it. That is why you should use a password or keychain safe password. They would also have to enter that password or keychain a secure password to unlock their device. This will not allow them access to files on your device, though, unless they know the password, so if possible, you may want to consider using this feature for the highest security level.

 

  1. Use a Strong Passcode to Secure Your Lock Screen Completely

 

If you have used the suggestions above, you will hopefully have good security on your device. However, even if you use a strong passcode, there is always a chance that someone will get into your device and try to guess the passcode and access your data. This can be very frustrating because you’ll have to think of an entirely different strong passcode for every app, which can become tedious. For this information not to happen, we recommend using something called “Patterns,” “Fingerprints,” or a PIN code as the passcode option on your iOS device.

 

  1. Use a Short Passcode

 

A passcode that is not more extended than six characters should be sufficient to provide the best level of security possible. Furthermore, it should also be easy for anyone to remember. For example, “123456789” should be a safe bet because the number of letters and the digits can easily be memorized. What is essential, though, is to avoid using anything that can easily be guessed, like “qwerty,” which is something you do not want happening because it spells out a word. All of your personal information could show up on the screen for everyone to see if that happens.

 

Author

Write A Comment